Tertiary Education Institution Council Appointments

Education Minister Chris Hipkins today announced two appointments to university governing councils and a reappointment to the WelTec Whitireia combined council.

The appointments are:

  • Mr Malcolm WONG as a member of the University of Otago      council.
  • Mr John ALLEN as a member of the Victoria University of      Wellington council.
  • Dr Deborah      HUME has been reappointed as a member of the WelTec Whitireia Combined      Council.


“I welcome the important skills and experience these appointees will bring to the leadership of their institutions,” Mr Hipkins said.

“I also wish to recognise and thank outgoing members – Sir Neville Jordan of Victoria University of Wellington and John Ward of the University of Otago – for the tremendous service, commitment, and contribution they have made to tertiary education.

“They have both served as elected Chancellor of their respective universities, and I want to recognise the valuable leadership they have provided,” Mr Hipkins said.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.